In order to legally possess a firearm in the state of Massachusetts, you have to be duly licensed. There are several types of firearm licenses available to the public. In most cases you will have to have completed a Firearms Safety Course.
Firearm License Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Types of Licenses
LTC Class A – This license allows the licensee to purchase, carry and possess large capacity and non-large capacity firearms, rifles and shotguns. They may carry a concealed firearm. This includes handguns and rifles or shotguns. It also includes all the privileges from the licenses above.
LTC Class B – This license allows the licensee all of the privileges mentioned above, as well as the ability to purchase, carry and possess a non-high capacity handgun. This license does NOT allow the licensee to carry a concealed firearm. A non-high capacity handgun is one that contains less than ten (10) rounds of ammunition in its feeding device.
FID Card (non-restricted) – This allows the licensee to possess non-high capacity rifles or shotguns, as well as those items described in the restricted FID card. A high capacity shotgun or rifle is one that is designed to hold more than five (5) rounds of ammunition.
FID Card (restricted) – This license allows the licensee to possess mace or another form of an incapacitating chemical spray.
Who Needs a Firearms License or FID Card?
To comply with Massachusetts law, except in the case of an inheritance, or when a person moves here from another state, before any Massachusetts resident may lawfully purchase, receive or possess a rifle or shotgun or purchase ammunition, they must obtain either a license to carry a firearm or an FID (Firearms Identification) Card.
In order to purchase a firearm or possess a firearm outside of one’s business property or residence, such person must have a license to carry.
In Massachusetts, any person who is a resident or has his place of business within the Commonwealth, or resides on a military base under federal jurisdiction within Massachusetts, may apply for an FID (Firearms Identification) Card from the local licensing authority.
While an FID Card allows it’s holder to possess firearms, it does not allow them to carry firearms on their person or in their vehicle outside of their residence or place of employment. According to Massachusetts General Laws, with an FID Card the holder may keep their firearm at his residence or place of business, whichever is listed on the FID Card. Anyone who wishes to possess a firearm (i.e. a pistol or revolver) away from their residence or place of business must obtain a License to Carry a Firearm.
How Do I Obtain a LTC or FID Card?
You must apply, in person, to the Belchertown Police Department. The cost per application is $100.00 (non refundable) and if approved, will be valid for six years. You may obtain the application form either at the station or online from our Forms and Applications page.
There are two different types of licenses: License to Carry and Firearms Identification Card which both vary in requirements, depending on what class of weapons license you are applying for. If you did not have a firearms license before June 1, 1998, you must present a gun safety certificate before filling out the application. It takes approximately 35 to 40 days for the license to be approved. Please do not call the station, as you will be notified by phone when your license is ready. Licenses must be signed by the applicant when the license is picked up.
- Call the department for an appointment with a firearms licensing officer.
- Applicant must be 21 years or older to apply for a License to Carry (LTC).
- Applicant must be 18 years or older to apply for a Firearms Identification Card (FID).
- 15-17 year olds are eligible for FID card with signed department parental consent form.
- Renewable every six (6) years.
- Renewed by appointment only.
- Make appointments 6-8 weeks prior to expiration date.
- New Applicants – A certificate of competency or a firearms safety course is required.
- Fee – $100.00 – Check or Money Order made payable to Town of Belchertown
- No charge for renewal if over the age of 70
- $25.00 fee for 15-18 years olds
Note: Any false information or answers to questions on the application form will be automatic grounds for denial of the LTC or FID application.
Change of Address: Must be made in writing through the Firearms Record Bureau prior to an appointment. Failure to do so could be grounds for revocation of an LTC or FID card.
Please note: All weapons must have a trigger lock or be kept in a tamper proof receptacle or other suitable locking device. You may call or email Officer Edward Oey with questions.
Firearms Safety Course
All first time applcants are required by law to complete a Firearms Safety Course prior to applying for an FID/LTC. Information on where to take a Firearms Safety Course is available in the police station lobby.
The class is 8-hours (mandatory) and usually consists of a Power Point presentation with hands on handling of firearms. Students are also required to pass a written proficiency examination at the end of the day on the covered subjects.